Zeitlos Film M&R
Deutsch

Contents

Start

Films

 Fruits of Boredom

 The garage, therefore I am

 The Dominion of the Hairdo

Awards

Press kits

Biographies

Links

Masthead

Intro





The garage, therefore I am.

Contents
 
If driving is a secular religion, then the construction of garages is the construction of temples. They compare with churches as sites of numinosity. From within and without garages are presented here as holy sites, in the face of which man must feel himself small and insignificant.

The film follows the aesthetics of the old fashioned slide show evening during which a single topic was to be illuminated by a multitude of individual images accompanied by the photographer's long winded commentary.

In parody the film examines the value given to cars, the fetish of a modern way of life gone mad. The film can also be regarded as silly nonsense. That's one thing it has in common with its subject.

An excerpt from the script


"A mere glance in a simple garage-o-teque is enough.  Just as in the lexicon of church history there are discoveries, analogies and angelic logics: the Bronze Age as garage, Noah's Ark as garage, the catacombs as garage, the scholastic cloister as garage, Cardinal Meisner as garage."

Awards

The Garage, therefore I am won two prizes at the 4th Düsseldorf Film Festival on November 30, 2008. Selected not only by the Jury for it's First Prize, it was also the audience's pick as one of the best films of the festival.

 

Film data

Die Garage, also bin ich

The garage, therefore I am.
(D 2006)
  8'20"

Directed by:
Hanns-Marcus Müller
& Jörg Rühenbeck

Format: Mini DV
Film clip (1'04")
Available in German only. For a translation of the commentary see "An excerpt from the script".

RealPlayer

low resolution  
(80 Kbit/s, 597 KB)


Windows Media Player

low resolution
(221 Kbit/s, 605 KB)


 © 2006 - 2011   www.zeitlos-film.de

Zeitlos Film M&R
English

Inhalt

Start

Filme

 Früchte der Langeweile

 Die Garage, also bin ich

 Die Herrschaft der Haare

 Auch auf dem Seitenstreifen

 Mein Düsseldorf

 Die Welt zu Gast bei Frechen

 Tonnen zu Tulpen?


Auszeichnungen

Pressemappen

Biographien

Links

Impressum


Intro




Die Garage, also bin ich.

Inhalt

Versteht man das Autofahren als säkulare Religion, so sind Garagenbauten Tempelbauten. Als Orte des Numinosen gleichen sie Kirchen. So werden Garagen hier von außen wie von innen als heilige Orte vorgeführt, denen gegenüber der Mensch sich klein und unbedeutend fühlen muss.

Ästhetisches Vorbild des Films sind die Dia-Abende vergangener Zeiten, bei denen ein Thema durch eine Vielzahl einzelner Bilder vergegenständlicht wurde, begleitet vom langwierigen Kommentar des Fotografierenden.

In parodistischer Weise setzt sich der Film mit der Wertschätzung des Autos auseinander, dem Fetisch einer sinnlos gewordenen modernen Lebenswelt. Man darf den Film aber auch für einen Unfug halten. Das hat er mit seinem Gegenstand gemeinsam.

Filmausschnitt



Textauszug


"Schon ein Blick in eine einfache Garagothek genügt. Wie im Lexikon der Kirchengeschichte finden sich Entdeckungen, Entsprechungen und Engelszungen: die Bronzezeit als Garage, die Arche Noah als Garage, die Katakomben als Garage, der scholastische Kreuzgang als Garage, Kardinal Meisner als Garage."

Auszeichnungen

Die Garage, also bin ich wurde beim 4. Düsseldorfer Kurzfilmfestival am 30.11.2008 gleich doppelt ausgezeichnet: Der Film erhielt nicht nur den Jurypreis, auch das Publikum wählte ihn zu einem der besten Filme des Festivals.

 

Filmdaten

Die Garage, also bin ich

Die Garage, also bin ich.
(D 2006)
  8'20"

Regie:
Hanns-Marcus Müller
& Jörg Rühenbeck

Format: Mini DV
Filmausschnitt (1'04")


 © 2006 - 2015   www.zeitlos-film.de